The International Symposium on Literature and Environment in East Asia (ISLE-EA)

The International Symposium on Literature and Environment in East Asia (ISLE-EA) is the fourth gathering of ecocritics in East Asia and beyond. With collaboration among ASLE-Korea, ASLE-Taiwan, and ASLE-Japan, we have hosted the following joint symposia in the past:
19-21 August 2007
The First ASLE-Japan ASLE-Korea Joint Symposium, Kanazawa (hosted by ASLE-Japan)
30 October-1 November 2010
The Second ASLE-Korea ASLE-Japan Joint Symposium, Seoul (hosted by ASLE-Korea)
7 December 2012
East Asian Symposium on Literature and Environment, Taipei (hosted by ASLE-Taiwan)

This time, the symposium's major aim is to reconsider binary oppositions, such as nature and technology, organic and synthetic, local and global, and East and West, that have been predominant in ecocritical thinking patterns.

About 50 scholars from nearly ten countries will present their views on how we can “unsettle” practices that have contributed to creating boundaries in our perceptions and values.


Prof. Ursula K. Heise

"The Anthropocene and the Reimagination of the City"

Professor of English at UCLA and a faculty member of UCLA’s Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (IoES). 2011 President of the Association for the Study of Literature and the Environment (ASLE). Her research and teaching focus on contemporary environmental culture, literature and art in the Americas, Western Europe and Japan; theories of globalization; literature and science; and the digital humanities. Author of Sense of Place and Sense of Planet: The Environmental Imagination of the Global (2008).

Prof. Suga Keijiro

"On the Re-wilding Coast: Reflections After 11 March 2011"

Poet, writer, translator, and professor of comparative literature and chair in the program of digital content studies at Meiji University. President of ASLE-Japan. Author of the Agend’Ars quadrilogy of poems and travel essays including Transversal Journeys (2012, Yomiuri Prize for Literature) and Strangeography (2013).

What's New


文学・環境学会 役員リスト」を更新しました。